Newsroom

1907 PHYSICS NOBEL

OSA Honorary Member Albert Abraham Michelson "for his optical precision instruments and the spectroscopic and metrological investigations carried out with their aid"

1930 PHYSICS NOBEL

OSA Honorary Member Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman "for his work on the scattering of light and for the discovery of the effect named after him"

1966 CHEMISTRY NOBEL

Robert S. Mulliken "for his fundamental work concerning chemical bonds and the electronic structure of molecules by the molecular orbital method"

A 1902 PHYSICS NOBEL

Hendrik Antoon Lorentz and Pieter Zeeman "for their researches into the influence of magnetism upon radiation phenomena"

1919 PHYSICS NOBEL

Johannes Stark "for his discovery of the Doppler effect in canal rays and the splitting of spectral lines in electric fields"

A 1955 PHYSICS NOBEL

OSA Honorary Member Willis Eugene Lamb "for his discoveries concerning the fine structure of the hydrogen spectrum"

Spectroscopy & the Nobel

O ctober is when scientists around the world await the results from Stockholm. Since the Nobel Prize was established in 1895, a surprising number of the awards have gone to advances related to or enabled by spectroscopy—from the spectral splitting of the Zeeman and Stark effects to cutting-edge advances enabled by laser frequency combs. We offer a small (and far from complete) sample here; to explore further, visit www.nobelprize.org.

1971 CHEMISTRY NOBEL

OSA Honorary Member Gerhard Herzberg "for his contributions to the knowledge of electronic structure and geometry of molecules, particularly free radicals"

1996 CHEMISTRY NOBEL

OSA Fellow **Robert F. Curl Jr.**, **Richard Smalley** and **Harold Kroto** (not pictured) "for their discovery of fullerenes"

1999 CHEMISTRY NOBEL

Ahmed H. Zewail "for his studies of the transition states of chemical reactions using femtosecond spectroscopy"



OSA & the Nobel

Thirty-five OSA members have been awarded the Nobel Prize	
1907	Albert Abraham Michelsor
1923	Robert Andrews Millikan
1930	Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman
1953	Frederik Zernike
1955	Willis Eugene Lamb
1964	Charles H. Townes
1964	Aleksandr Mikhailovish Prokhorov
1966	Alfred Kastler
1967	Haldan Keffer Hartline
1967	George Wald
1971	Dennis Gabor
1971	Gerhard Herzberg
1975	James Rainwater
1981	Nicolaas Bloembergen
1981	Arthur L. Schawlow
1996	Robert F. Curl Jr.
1997	Steven Chu
1997	Claude Cohen-Tannoudji
1997	William D. Phillips
2000	Zhores I. Alferov
2001	Eric Cornell
2001	Wolfgang Ketterle
2001	Carl Wieman
2005	Roy J. Glauber
2005	Theodor W. Haensch
2005	John L. Hall
2006	George Smoot
2006	John C. Mather
2009	George E. Smith
2009	Willard S. Boyle
2009	Charles K. Kao
2012	David J. Wineland
2014	Hiroshi Amano
2014	Stefan Hell
2014	W.E. Moerner
D /	

Image sources: 1907, Michelson Collection, Nimitz Library, U.S. Naval Academy, courtesy AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives / 1930, OSA Photo Archives / 1955, National Archives and Records Administration, courtesy AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives / 1971, Courtesy of the Heritage Photograph Collection, Archives and Research Collections, Carleton University Library / 1989, Davis Freeman, University of Washington, courtesy AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives, Dehmelt Collection / 1996, Rice University / 1999, Caltech / 2005, Max Planck Institute / 1902, 1966, 1981, Getty Images Infographic by Alessia Kirkland

1981 PHYSICS NOBEL

Kai M. Siegbahn "for his contribution to the development of high-resolution electron spectroscopy" and OSA Honorary Members Nicolaas Bloembergen and Arthur L. Schawlow "for their contribution to the development of laser spectroscopy"

1989 PHYSICS NOBEL

Hans G. Dehmelt (pictured) and Wolfgang Paul" for the development of the ion trap technique"

2005 PHYSICS NOBEL

OSA Honorary Members Theodor W. Haensch and John L. Hall "for their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique"

Read more about OSA and the Nobel Prize: **www.osa.org/nobel**